Math without numbers

Some great stuff happening in Joshua (’12)’s classroom:

I truly think the hardest part about Algebra for students is that they have to look for a meaning behind the numbers and variables.

As I’ve thought a lot more about that this year for my students, I decided that I would do some research, and what I found was a Common Core performance assessment from Illustrativemathematics.com that strictly asked for meaning. I fell immediately in love with the idea of no numbers, no vocabulary, just strict meaning of the problems.

Check out all his reflections here.

Leave a Reply

